Mrs. Hobson
4/8/2013 12:14:42 am

Wow! Those are difficult questions to answer. Poetry can be many things to many people. To me it is a way to share emotions about an event, a person, or a thing. It is a beautiful art form. I will share more later as I want to know what you all think!

Reply
Spencer
4/8/2013 12:20:54 am

huh? thats kind of tricky... poetry is like a shot version of storys and almost everything rhymes

Reply
Sean
4/8/2013 12:23:15 am

I think that poetry is a way for people who want to share their feelings about the world and to express their emotions. I think that poetry and story's are alike because they both have a point to them and they both tell a story. So I think that there are no differences between poetry and story books.

Reply
Ellen Forrester
4/8/2013 12:25:25 am

I think that one difference between a Poem and a story is that Poems usually have a rhythm to them. Stories usually don't.

Reply
Emma
4/8/2013 12:25:51 am

I think that poetry is a thought of emotion. I also think that a story is how you explain your thoughts. If I was writing a story I would say and I crossed the finishing line if I was writing a poem I would say I ran ran as fast as I can and dashed to the finishing line. It is a completely different way to writing a story/poem.

Reply
LUKE
4/8/2013 12:26:39 am

Poetry, there are countless types to me. I like it but only the funny poems. there can be many different genres, like, si-fi, fiction, nonfiction, and many more. There are lots of differences such as how it is written or the form it is written.

Reply
EMMA
4/11/2013 12:58:26 am

How is it countless to you it is away to express your emotion?


' Emma




Reply
simon
4/8/2013 12:27:29 am

Poetry is a way to tell a short story. once i saw a poem about a tree and the poem was shaped like a tree! i think poems and a story are very similar but one is long and one is short.

Reply
Lael
4/8/2013 12:29:56 am

A story is telling a tale about something or someone. Poetry is to make you laugh and giggle and con be serious some times.Thats what I think.

Reply
Ben
4/9/2013 05:50:07 am

I agree. There can be a range of silliness and seriousness in a poem.

Reply
Maddie
4/8/2013 12:30:33 am

Well, there is a lot to say in my opinion about poetry. Poetry to me is kind of like a beautiful way to say something emotional and full of heart from the writer. Sometimes it can make you happy and laugh a bit. Not all poetry needs to rhyme or even make sense. All it needs to do is make you happy or sad or whatever the writer wants you to feel inside. Also, when the writer writes, it can reflect on us and make us feel what the writer felt. It is a wonderful thing. (Or a funny thing!)

Reply
jack
4/8/2013 12:30:44 am

NO there isn't a diffence between a poem and a story. Why because they're both describing detals about what's going on. Lastly there their the same because they '' CAN '' have pukcuation , and they are both types of storyes.

Reply
simon
4/11/2013 12:54:49 am

I agree jack. A poem is a story but a poem is shorter.

Reply
Adrian
4/8/2013 12:30:57 am

There are many things that poetry can be, but to me poetry is a way to express you feelings. It is a way to get away from reality and write.
There are many thing that poetry and storys have in common like they are both ways to get away form reality .

Reply
Ben
4/8/2013 12:31:46 am

Poetry is second dimensional writing. Often times poets write about things through a different eye. They don't see birds as animals that happen to be able to fly. They see birds as flying spirits bringing song from lands far away. I also think poetry different then a story, writing is more telling it like while poetry is a more creative version of tale. Also because poetry is a creative tale there are many, many type. From haikus to acrostics it is truly a amazing and intersecting type of writing.

Reply
Sophie 2
4/8/2013 12:34:22 am

Poetry to me is a special way to express yourself in a more personal way. I think for a lot of people it helps them say things that are on their mind that they don't feel comfortable saying in a story. Poetry to me is a way to share a feeling without just saying exactly whats on your mind but putting it in a way that lets all your feelings out but makes you still feel secure. I think a story and poetry are very different things. A story is something that people use MOST OF THE TIME to say exactly what is on their mind unlike poetry. I have found that in poetry most people tend to write in a more complex way. They add more detail and make things more complicated so some people don't know what they mean. I think Poetry is amazing and really helps you get your personal feelings out.

Reply
Amelia
4/8/2013 12:39:17 am

To me poetry is a way to express feelings through a creative piece of art. Personally, poetry is both the same and different as a story. It is similar because you can express your feelings and do it through art. It is different because in poetry there is such a wide variety of types you can create but in a story there is not such a wide variety. In both poetry and a story you can express feelings through a different and cool type of art.

Reply
Tristan
4/8/2013 12:43:58 am

To me poetry is when people write how they feel or how people around them feel.I think a poem is different from a story because a poem you describes feelings and a story describes something that happened in real life. Some poetry is funny, some is scary but most is about feelings, to me.

Reply
Andrew
4/8/2013 12:52:11 am

Poetry to me is a way to have fun, laugh and talk about things in life.
I don't think that they are the same because poetry is usually shorter then a story and poetry usually rhymes more then a story. Also a story has chapters and a poem doesn't.

Reply
Doyle
4/8/2013 12:55:03 am

To me poetry is a way to make you laugh and smile. It is also a way to express your feelings to other people, or about other things. To answer the second question, I think that poetry and stories are the same. I think that because, a poem tells you a story but a little shorter then a normals story.

Reply
sydney
4/8/2013 12:55:58 am

Poetry is a way to share feeling , emotion , and good times. Some poems are funny, and some are serious. Shel Silverstein is famose for his pomes. His pomes were funny and serious. pomes are ways to express your self in words.

Reply
chloe
4/8/2013 01:00:01 am

Poetry to me is a way to express your feelings.The dont have to rym but some of them do. You can write about people, places, or things. Poems are different from storys because storys are longer then poems. Also they can be the same because they both can be funny or they can rym.

Reply
chanti
4/8/2013 01:02:24 am

I think poetry is a feeling someone has and they want to share it with other people. I think there is some difference in a story because a story usually has full sentences and cant really go of in a different way. They are similar because they both share a thought.

Reply
Ellen Forrster
4/8/2013 01:03:28 am

To me, Poetry is a lot of different things.I think is is more like a song than a story because it has a rhythm. But that is just my opinion!

Reply
callie
4/8/2013 03:10:23 am

it is writing

Reply
Abbie
4/9/2013 01:12:31 am

To me, poetry is a different way to express your feelings in writing. When you use poetry to express your feelings you don't have to say it straight out, instead you express your feelings through tone and different words. Poetry is amazing! It helps so many people, plus, it is fun.I do not think poetry is the same as a story because in stories you usually are not expressing feelings. It also does not usually rhyme. Poetry doesn't talk about someone, or something and talk about what they are doing, and what they are saying. You can say so much in poetry in just a little bit of writing. It sometimes can leave you wondering and asking "What is going to happen next?"

-Abbie

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    April 2013

    Categories

    All